Mid-Atlantic Aviation Partnership.

Virginia, Maryland, and New Jersey’s UAS Test Site

Welcome to the Mid-Atlantic Aviation Partnership.

The FAA Modernization and Reform Act of 2012 required the FAA to establish a program to integrate Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) into the National Airspace System (NAS) at 6 Test Sites. Virginia Tech is awarded to lead one of the six Test Sites, and the team includes Maryland and New Jersey. Test Range selection is based on

  • Geography
  • Climate
  • Ground infrastructure
  • Research needs

Program Requirements

  • Maintain Safety and Efficiency of the NAS
  • Safely designate Airspace for integrated manned and unmanned flight operations
  • Develop Certification Standards and ATC procedures
  • Address Civil and Private UAS
  • Coordinate with the NextGen Program
  • Verify Safety and Navigation Procedures

The MAAP Membership Brochure is now available.

This two page brochure provides details for the types of membership available with the Mid-Atlantic Aviation Partnership. For more information, please contact Diana Williams, diana266@exchange.vt.edu